More About Us

Clean, Secure, and Reasonably-Priced Housing is Our Goal

The Public Housing Commission of the City of Marshall welcomes you! We are proud to be located in the beautiful, diverse, and welcoming community of Marshall, MN. Our agency believes that having a decent place to live is not a luxury, but a basic human need. As such, our goal is to strengthen our community and improve the lives of all citizens by providing clean, safe, and affordable housing to low-income, disabled, and elderly residents.

Executive Director – Mark Farrell | Secretary – Linda Runia

What is the PHCCM?

Established in 1970, we currently own, manage, and sustain 4 properties for families and individuals. Funding for our agency primarily comes to us through the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and the rental income from our residents. The Public Housing Commission of the City of Marshall is independently administered and governed by an appointed board. We operate in a fiscally responsible manner and in ways that promote the vitality of families, neighborhoods, and our city.

Your Privacy is Important to Us

We maintain a strict privacy policy toward all applicants and their financial information. Thanks to our online capabilities, it is no longer necessary to come to the Public Housing Commission office to apply; applicants may do so via the internet on their computer, tablet, or smart phone, or on a public computer, such as at the library. Of course, in-person applications are welcome during business hours. We also make accommodations for applicants who are unable to complete the application process due to disability or language barriers. Please contact us for additional support.

Board Members

The Public Housing Commission is overseen by a Five Member Board. Members are Appointed by the Mayor and Confirmed by the City Council.

Chair – John Rickgarn
Vice Chair – Jana Reilly
Secretary/Treasurer – Tanisha Juarez
Dean Knutson
Jennifer Katz

Term: 5 years- Two Term Limit


Public Housing Commission of the City of Marshall
202 N. First Street
Marshall, Minnesota 56258



Office Hours

8:00 am – 3:00 pm
Monday - Friday
Closed Saturdays & Sundays

Closed all Major Holidays


Download Application